Ngā Tohu Reo Māori 2016 ko ngā whiringa toa

Finalists in 13 contestable categories of the Māori Language Commission’s annual Ngā Tohu Reo Māori, the National Māori Language Awards, have been announced.

Thirty eight finalists have been selected from more than 88 entries, the highest number received since the awards began in 2004. This year’s ceremony to be hosted by the Commission and Te Reo o Taranaki, will be held in New Plymouth on 11 November.

Māori Language Commission Chief Executive Ngahiwi Apanui says the entries have set a new benchmark for innovation and excellence in te reo Māori. “Each year the competition to be named a champion of te reo Māori gets tougher,” he says. This year’s finalists, many of whom have been past winners, and are finalists in more than one category, have built on previous experience to take te reo to new heights. “The awards are an important event in the Māori language calendar and as well as recognising initiatives and activities which took place during the year, are also an opportunity to acknowledge long-term commitment by individuals and groups to Māori language revitalisation.”

Categories this year include awards for individuals and groups, including arts and entertainment, educational institutions, businesses, radio and television broadcasters and individuals. No entries were received for the sports award.

Ngā Tohu Reo Māori 2016

Ko Ngā Whiringa Toa - Finalists

Te Reo Māori Central Government Champion

Ministry of Justice


New Zealand Qualifications Authority


Callaghan Innovation

Te Reo Maori Broadcasting Champion

Stacey Morrison


Radio NZ

Te Reo Māori Community Champion

Commission for Financial Capability


Kaumātua Class Tirau

Tuwharetoa FM

Te Reo Māori English Education Champion



Ngai Tauira


Raewyn Harrison

Te Reo Māori Business Champion

Whitebait Restaurant


CORE Education


Air New Zealand

Te Reo Māori Young Champion

Taini Drummond


Aaron Koopu


Ngāi Tauira

Te Reo Māori Media Champion

Stacey Morrison


Radio New Zealand


Commission for Financial Capability

Te Reo Māori Digital/Innovation Champion

Commission for Financial Capability


Kiwa Digital Ltd


Callaghan Innovation

Te Reo Māori Local Government Champion

Wayne Hastie (Operating as Metlink)


South Waikato District Council


Auckland Council Biosecurity Team

(Dr Imogen Bassett)

Te Reo Māori Education Māori Medium

Komene Cassidy


Te Mihinga Komene


New Zealand Qualifications Authority

Te Reo Māori Individual Champion

Carlin Shaw


Manuel Springford


Taini Drummond

Te Reo Māori Māori Language Week Champion

Radio New Zealand


Māori Television


Tuwharetoa FM

Te Reo Māori Arts & Entertainment Champion

Merita Waitoa-Paki & Tahu Paki


Patea Māori Club


Karam Fletcher