The Māori Language Act (1987)

The Māori Language Act (1987) declared Māori to be an official language of New Zealand and established our organisation, the Māori Language Commission (later Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori). 

We were set up to give effect to the official status of te reo, to register translators and interpreters and to provide for the use of te reo Māori in court proceedings. We are an autonomous Crown entity and responsible to Parliament for the use of public funds to support our objectives. 

Learn more about what we do